How To Contact Your Elected and Appointed Officials

Write a letter using your own stationery. Letters are more effective than postcards.  Be sure to include your address. Representatives are interested in their constituents and usually reply.  Use your own words, giving reasons why you are for or against the legislation and identifying it by bill number.  Address yourself to only one issue.  While a letter is still the preferred way to contact your elected officials, time constraints or other reasons may make email or FAX a more suitable means by which to communicate.

Federal Government Officials

The President of the United States:

President Donald Trump
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20500

United States Senate:

The Honorable Richard J. Durbin
711 Hart Senate Bldg.
Washington, DC 20510
Phone: (202) 224-2152
230 South Dearborn,
Suite 3892
Chicago, IL 60604
Phone: (312) 353-4952
The Honorable Tammy Duckworth
G12 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington DC, 20510
Phone: (202) 224-2854
230 South Dearborn,
Suite 3900
Chicago, IL 60604
Phone: (312) 886-3506

United States House of Representatives:

5th District
The Hon. Mike Quigley
2458 Rayburn House Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20515
phone: (202) 225-4061
3223 N. Sheffield Ave.
Chicago, IL 60657
phone: (773) 267-5926
9th District
The Hon. Jan Schakowsky
2367 Ryabuen House Office Bldg
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: (202) 225-2111
820 Davis Street, Ste. 105
Evanston, IL 60201
Phone: (847) 328-3409
10th District
The Hon. Brad Schneider
1432 Longworth House Office Building
WashingtonDC 20515
Phone: (202) 225-4835
111 Barclay Blvd, Suite 200
LincolnshireIL 60069
Phone: (847) 383-4870

Need to contact a different United States Member of Congress?  Call the U.S. Capital Switchboard at (202)224-3121 and ask for your senators’ and/or representative’s office or search online for your Congresspersons contact information.

State Government Officials

Governor of Illinois:

The Honorable JB Pritzker
Office of the Governor
207 State House
Springfield, IL 62706
Phone: 217-782-0244
Office of the Governor
James R. Thompson Center
100 W. Randolph, 16-100
Chicago, IL 60601
Phone: 312-814-2121

Illinois State Senators:

6th Legislative District
The Hon. John J. Cullerton
327 Capitol Building
Springfield, IL  62706
Phone: (217) 782-2728
District Office
1726 W. Belmont
Chicago, IL 60657
(773) 883-0770
9th Legislative District
The Hon. Daniel Biss
 417B Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-2119
 District Office
3706 Dempster St.
Skokie, IL  60076
(847) 568-1250
29th Legislative District
The Hon. Julie Morrison
M115 Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-3650
District Office:
700 Osterman Ave
Deerfield, IL  60015
(847) 945-5200

Illinois State Representatives:

17th Legislative District
The Hon. Laura Fine
255-S Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-4194
District Office:
1812 Waukegan Road
Suite A
Glenview, IL  60025
(847) 998-1717
18th Legislative District
The Hon. Robyn Gabel
248-W Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-8052
District Office
820 Davis Street
Suite 103
Evanston, IL 60201
Phone: (847) 424-9898
57th Legislative District
The Hon. Jonathan Carrol
241-E Stratton Office Building
Springfield, IL 62706
Phone: 217-558-1004
District Office
830 South Buffalo Grove Rd
Suite 120
Buffalo Grove, IL 60089
Phone: 847-229-5499

Need to contact a different Illinois Legislator?  To find out what district you’re in, who your elected officials are and how you can contact them, go to:

Other Government Officials

The Honorable Toni Preckwinkle
Cook County Board President
118 N. Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60602
Phone:  (312) 443-5500
Illinois Environmental Protection Agency
1021 North Grand Ave. East
P.O. Box 19276
Springfield, IL 62794-9276
(217) 782-3397